What exchange rate does Upwork Direct to Local Bank use? Upwork charges $0.99 per withdrawal, but its payment partners set the conversion rate and may include a markup when a USD balance is paid in local currency. A receiving bank may also charge an incoming fee. Compare the quoted local amount, the $0.99 fee, any bank deduction, and the arrival time before choosing the route.
Upwork Direct to Local Bank fee and transfer time

Upwork states that Direct to Local Bank costs $0.99 per withdrawal, plus possible incoming fees at some banks. It says a withdrawal should arrive within four business days once the method is set up.
There is a noon UTC cutoff for same day processing. A withdrawal submitted after that point is processed on the next business day. US bank holidays and holidays in the destination country can add delays.
If the payment has not arrived after four business days, Upwork tells freelancers to contact their bank. Upwork can attempt a trace after eight business days.
These clocks start after the earnings have become available on Upwork. They do not include the platform’s review or security period.
Country limits are not uniform
Upwork publishes explicit limits for some countries. On 4 August 2026, its page showed:
| Country | Published minimum | Published maximum or range |
|---|---|---|
| Bangladesh | $5 | $10,000 |
| Kenya | Not stated on the country row | $5,000 to $20,000 |
| Nigeria | Not stated on the country row | $3,000 |
| Pakistan | $5 | $8,999 |
The Kenya row gives a range rather than one fixed ceiling. The public page does not explain which accounts receive which limit. Check the amount accepted in the withdrawal screen before relying on the upper end.
India, the Philippines, South Africa and Egypt were not given country specific limits on the cited page when checked. That absence does not prove that the method is unavailable or unlimited. It means the public article does not settle the question. Use the limit shown in the account.
If you have permanently relocated, verify your Upwork profile country and location details before relying on the method, currency, or limits shown in the account.
Upwork Direct to Local Bank exchange rate
Upwork holds freelancer balances in USD. When a freelancer withdraws in another currency, a payment partner performs the conversion. Upwork says the partner sets the actual rate and may include a markup.
Upwork does not state a universal percentage. Do not treat the $0.99 withdrawal charge as the total route cost, and do not estimate an FX percentage from an undated screenshot.
Direct to U.S. Bank is a different route with different eligibility and fee triggers. If that route is available to you, compare the current $2.99 Direct to U.S. Bank execution date rule separately.
Before confirming a withdrawal, record:
- the USD amount leaving Upwork;
- the quoted local currency amount, if shown;
- the $0.99 withdrawal fee;
- any amount the bank deducts on receipt; and
- the date and time of the quote.
That record lets the freelancer calculate the effective conversion rate and compare it with another route on the same day.
Setup checks that prevent avoidable failures
Upwork requires the beneficiary name on the withdrawal account to match the verified name on Upwork. Bank account numbers and bank codes cannot be edited after setup; a changed number or code requires a new withdrawal method. Upwork says a new method becomes active after a three calendar day security hold.
The required bank code varies by country. It may be an IFSC (India), BRSTN (Philippines), SWIFT (the international bank messaging network for cross border payments), or another domestic code. Upwork advises freelancers to confirm the code with their bank, especially when the bank name or address returned by the form looks wrong.
For Indian freelancers who need bank documentation after an Upwork payout, the separate FIRC and FIRA request guide explains the evidence path and its limits.
What to check before pressing Withdraw
Use the method only after the account itself shows it as available. Confirm the beneficiary name, bank code, account number, withdrawal limit and displayed receiving currency. Save the quote or confirmation screen.
For a fair comparison with Payoneer, PayPal, M Pesa or a wire, start with the same available Upwork balance and compare the final amount in the same destination currency. A route with a higher visible fee can still deliver more if its conversion is better. The reverse is also possible.
Official sources
Observed and reviewed: August 4, 2026. Verify current terms shown in your account before withdrawing.
Reader discussion
0 approved comments
Share a specific question, correction, or first-hand workflow detail. Do not include private financial or identity information.